Oct 052019
 

The Lido by Libby Page

Audible Audiobook
Listening Length: 9 hours and 18 minutes
Program Type: Audiobook
Version: Unabridged
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Audible.com Release Date: July 10, 2018

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her 86-year-old subject – and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a 26-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an 86-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history – with the help of a charming photographer – she pieces together a portrait of the pool and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations – an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Thoughts
I’ve had this book on my list for a while. I don’t know why it took me so long to get to it but I’m so glad I decided to move it to the top of my list.

I loved Rosemary! She is 86 and a widow who swims at the Lido every day and has been going there since it opened when she was a child. I loved learning about her life and her love for her husband George and their life together, and her love for the Lido.

Kate was a great character also. She is 26-year-old, works for a newspaper and suffers from anxiety, but with the help of Rosemary, the Lido,  and a man she starts having a relationship with (can’t remember his name), she finally starts living a “normal” life.

Together these two women, with the help of the community, set out to stop the Lido from being demolished and turned into an apartment complex.

This is a fantastic book that will be going on my “favorite” list for this year. The characters were full of love for their community, each other, and doing whatever it took to save the Lido. It was an awesome story that will stay with me for a very long time and I have a feeling I’ll be listening, or reading, it again.

This is the first book by Libby Page . I will be keeping an eye out for her next book, The 24-Hour Café which is scheduled to be released January 23rd in the UK, and hopefully soon after in the U.S.

  10 Responses to “Audiobook Review:
The Lido by Libby Page”

  1. I’m so glad you liked it. It was on my favorites list last year!

  2. Sounds like a good story. Our library has it on order. 🙂

  3. The fact that you and Mary loved this says a lot to me.

  4. You’ve sold me! Sounds like one I need to pick up for just the right moment, Vicki.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.