May 142019
 

About The Wonder of Lost Causes

• Hardcover: 464 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow (April 30, 2019)

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift . . .

Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog. It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough. Worse still, Kate’s personal resolve runs contrary to her work as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, where she is on a mission to find forever homes for dogs in desperate need.

The scarred, mistreated wreck of a dog that turns up doesn’t stand a chance. Named Whistler, he’s too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous bond with Jasper. Whistler never makes a sound, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways. The clock’s ticking, the dog’s future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them—for a reason.

Thoughts
This is my first Trout book, and it  is so good that I don’t even know where to start.  I feel like anything I say will not do it justice. It made me feel so many emotions from the first paragraph to the last and my thoughts still keep going back to the book.

Kate has a lot to deal with at the animal shelter, caring for/worrying about Jasper, and then Whistler was added to the mix. Jasper and Whistler stole my heart from the beginning.

This book is about the special bond that can happen between a person and a dog.  A lot happens in the book, some good, some bad, some sad, and will make you very emotional. The story has many layers and I would love for it to become a  movie.

I would recommend this book to both animal lovers and those who aren’t. I have very seldom ever read a book a second time, but I will read this again. I also plan to read his other books. The Wonder Of Lost Causes is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

#thewonderoflostcauses

@tlcbooktours

@williammorrowbooks

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

About Nick Trout

Dr. Nick Trout works full-time as a staff surgeon at the prestigious Angell Animal Medical Center in Boston. He is the author of five previous books, including the New York Times bestseller Tell Me Where It Hurts, and his writing has been translated into sixteen different languages. He lives in Massachusetts with his wife, Kathy; their daughter, Emily; their adopted labradoodle, Thai; and Emily’s service dog, a black Labrador named Bella.

Find out more about him at his website.

 

  12 Responses to “Book Review:
The Wonder of Lost Causes by Nick Trout”

  1. I started tearing up just reading about that dog! I am hopeless when animals are concerned.

  2. This sounds really good. He also written some other books that sound good too.
    Thanks for the info.

  3. This book really sounds like a page-turner and tear-jerker. Great review, Vicki!

  4. I love books that you can envision being turned into a movie! Thank you for being on this tour. Sara @ TLC Book Tours

  5. Looks sweet. He’s new to me.

  6. Many thanks for the kind words. So glad you saw this as a book that will appeal to animal lovers and perhaps those who are on the fence.
    Best wishes
    Nick Trout

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.