Nov 082016
 

28594365

Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman

Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (October 18, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062378740
ISBN-13: 978-0062378743

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

Thoughts
This book is a delight for anyone who loves books about a relationship between two women, especially if you like the two women to have a huge gap in age.

The book is sometimes funny, sometimes dark, but always interesting. The subject of Alzheimer’s is always a tough subject, but the author throws in humor to lighten the mood of the book. The characters are very well written, the situations throughout the book are entertaining.

This book is very good and will stay with you for a long time.
There is a bit of sexual references and a few curse words for those of you who want that info before deciding to read a book.

 

unnamed

  5 Responses to “Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman”

  1. I’ve seen this around and didn’t take the time to read the blurb so I had no idea what it’s about. And love the cover!

    It sounds really good to me. I like stories about women to women friendships and how they manage, and having the age difference and even health issues appeals somehow; sounds like not the usual old plot. Thank you.

  2. I have a feeling I’ll love this book too.

  3. I’ve seen this on a few other blogs and am intrigued. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  4. This is the most intriguing premise I’ve seen in a long time. Look forward to reading it!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)