Feb 102016
 

25817523

The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks; Reprint edition (October 4, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062413325
ISBN-13: 978-0062413321

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Thoughts
I loved this book. It takes place in Manhattan during the week of Thanksgiving. It brought back a lot of memories because my family and I spent the week of Thanksgiving in NYC, and our hotel was in Manhattan. I wish I had known about the Ramble when I went to Central Park, I would have loved to have checked it out. It sounds like a great place to take a walk, birdwatch, or just sit and read or people watch.

I really enjoyed the three main characters, and Tate also. I loved how even though they all should have been confident in their lives, no one is immune to self doubt and confusion. I loved the relationship between Clio and Smith. Both could depend on the other unconditionally.

The book was full of emotions, the characters had real life problems and struggles and that made them seem “real”. I absolutely loved it. I’m sure I’ll pick it up in the future to give it a re-read.

I highly recommend this book!

About The Author
63272547-84fb-48c3-bc82-fa4efa5988dd Born and raised in New York City, Aidan Donnelley Rowley is a graduate of Yale University and Columbia Law School, but her dream (long unconscious) was always to write. She is the author of a novel, Life After Yes; blogs at IvyLeagueInsecurities.com; contributes to The Huffington Post; and is the founder and curator of the popular Happier Hours Literary Salons. The middle of five sisters, she lives in New York with her husband and three young daughters.

 

#TLCBookTours and #TheRamblers
 
Add to Goodreads badge
 
Purchase links: HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Author links: BlogTwitterFacebook, and Instagram
 
Click here for the tour schedule
87636ca5-f52c-4aa1-ab52-3ec2e5865b1b

  16 Responses to “The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley”

  1. I think I’d love this one! You can’t go wrong with that setting!

  2. Oh this sounds lovely! I love detailed stories like this and the setting and characters sound like something I’d really enjoy.

  3. Forgive the country boy in me but it’s a story set in New York City. I’m sold. I’ve never been able to make it there yet and I live vicariously through books. Plus, this one sounds really good. I am big fan of contemporary fiction.

  4. This does sound enticing, Vicki! I’ll keep this book in mind.

  5. I’m a fan of all those authors mentioned in the blurb… think I need to read this one, too. Glad you loved it!

  6. I love that there is a place like Central Park in a big city like New York. Having a place to be out in nature is so very important.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    • I was really neat to walk from all the hustle/bustle into a park full of trees, horse drawn carriages, an ice skating rink etc. I could have spent a whole week just in the park.

  7. This sounds so good Vicki

  8. I am definitely adding this to my library list

  9. This looks good and I love New York City stories. Adding it to my list now!

  10. I love it when I have a personal connection to the location in a book and the cover makes me want to visit too! I also really love when an author manages to make character feel real. Joshilyn Jackson is one of my favorite authors for that 🙂

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)