Apr 302015
 

22926840

Officer Elvis: A Darla Cavannah Mystery (Book 2) by Gary M. Gusick

File Size: 1383 KB
Print Length: 198 pages
Publisher: Alibi (April 21, 2015)
Sold by: Random House LLC
Language: English
ASIN: B00L0EYO0W
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
 

In the vein of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, Gary Gusick takes readers on an explosive ride-along with Mississippi detective Darla Cavannah, a Yankee transplant making her name in the Deep South.

After performing at a local old-folks home, off-duty police officer and part-time Elvis impersonator Tommy Reylander smoothes out his pompadour, climbs into his pink Caddy, and gets all shook up—fatally so, when a bomb explodes. Whether he was killed for his police work or bad singing is a mystery that detective Darla Cavannah is determined to solve.

Though it’s been several years since Darla (reluctantly) partnered up with Tommy, she convinces her boss to let her lead the murder investigation. As the new regional director of the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, Shelby Mitchell can think of better uses for his star detective’s time, but not even the most hardened good ole boy can resist Darla’s smart, savvy persuasions. She soon embarks on a roller coaster ride through the world of Elvis tribute artists while tracking down one of the most bizarre serial killers in the history of the Magnolia State. Aiding her pursuit of the killer is recently reprimanded officer Rita Gibbons, fresh from the trailer park and described by Shelby as “half a licorice stick short in the manners department.” But Rita’s plenty smart, even when this case takes their suspicious minds in an entirely unexpected direction.

Thoughts
I like reading books where the lead detective is a female. The book has so much going on, but it is easy to follow and a quick read. One murder turns into many more and it looks like someone is not a fan of Elvis impersonators.

The book is full of twists and ends up being more than you think when you start reading. The characters are all unique and I love how southern they are, some of the dialogue is hilarious.

There is Elvis trivia throughout the book and you know the author did a lot of research. I like trivia, so that was a big bonus for me.

If you’re an Elvis or Elvis impersonator fan, get a copy of this book. Even if you’re not a fan but love a light murder mystery, check this book out.

 

Meet The Author
unnamedGary Gusick is the author of The Last Clinic. A former advertising executive with more than thirty years experience as a copywriter and creative director, Gusick has won numerous national and international awards for creative excellence in advertising.
Add to Goodreads badge

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

 

 

  8 Responses to “Officer Elvis: A Darla Cavannah Mystery by Gary M. Gusick”

  1. This sounds like a really good book.

  2. That sounds like so much fun!

  3. Vicki, this sounds like a fun mystery! I like that the detective is a woman. Thanks for a great review, and for hosting this giveaway! 🙂

  4. This sounds like a fun mystery series and I definitely want to check it out. Plus Elvis trivia! I have to try this one now 🙂

  5. I love trivia so I’d definitely enjoy that aspect of the book!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

  6. […] Thursday, April 30th: I’d Rather Be at the Beach […]

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)