Mailbox Monday

 Uncategorized  Add comments
Nov 092014
 

mmb-300x282

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Every Wednesday for Books That Caught Our Eye, Serena, Leslie and I will each share 2 books that grabbed our attention from today’s Mailbox Monday post. We hope you’ll join us by posting a comment letting us know the books that caught your eye.

 For Review:

product_thumbnailIt’s This Monkey’s Business by Debra Mares

Cabana, a young spider monkey is brought to life to tell her story growing up with domestic violence and divorce. Cabana, who lives with her parents in a treehouse high up in a rainforest canopy, becomes startled one day from her Mama’s scream, when she is waiting atop a tree branch for her Papa to teach her how to swing. After falling to the forest floor, Cabana frustrated from her parents’ fighting, decides she will search for a new family to be part of, but is faced with a dangerous world.

It’s This Monkey’s Business safely explores with children, issues surrounding domestic violence in the home. Targeting ages 4-8, this easy-to-understand story is intended for families who have been affected by domestic violence or wish to bring awareness to it. This book is intended where parents decide to separate or divorce as a result of a domestic dispute, but plan to stay active and involved in their child’s life.

 

For Tour:

22213687Mr. Samuel’s Penny by Treva Hall Melvin
It’s 1972 and fourteen-year-old New Yorker Elizabeth Landers is sent to the sleepy town of Ahoskie, North Carolina to spend the summer with relatives.
Her expectation of boredom is quickly dispelled when police sirens and flashing lights draw her to a horrible scene at the Danbury Bridge. Mr. Samuel, owner of Samuel’s Lumber Yard, has driven his car off the bridge and into the river, drowning himself and his daughter. The medical examiner thinks it’s an accident, but the Sheriff finds fresh bullet holes on the bridge right where the skid marks are. Curiously, Mr. Samuel died clutching a unique 1909 wheat penny—a penny that is then stolen from the Sheriff’s office. Lizbeth witnesses Miss Violet’s grief upon learning that her husband and child are dead, and decides she will help by finding the penny.

Her search involves Lizbeth in the lives of many Ahoskie residents. Like the owner of the grocery store, mean old Mr. Jake, who—as all the kids in Ahoskie know—hates black folks. Plenty of pennies in his till. Then there is Ms. Melanie Neely, otherwise known as “Ms. McMeanie,” who thinks the lumber yard should belong to her. And Mr. Samuel’s handsome brother Ben, who struggles to keep the business afloat after his more clever brother’s death. Lizbeth searches through the collection plates at church and in the coin jars of crazy old Aunt Ode, a strange old woman missing one eye and most of her teeth, who keeps a flask in her apron pocket and a secret in her soul.

 

From The Library:

Thunderstorm over Karoo landscape, Nieuwoudtville, South AfricaUnremarried Widow by Artus Genderson
In the tradition of The Year of Magical Thinking and What Remains, this breathtaking memoir by a young Army widow shares her heartbreaking, candid story about recovering from her husband’s death.A world traveler, Artis Henderson dreamed of living abroad after college and one day becoming a writer. Marrying a conservative Texan soldier and being an Army wife was never in her plan. Nor was the devastating helicopter crash that took his life soon after their marriage. On November 6, 2006, the Apache helicopter carrying Artis’s husband Miles crashed in Iraq, leaving her—in official military terms—an “unremarried widow.” She was twenty-six years old.

In Unremarried Widow, Artis gracefully and fearlessly traces the arduous process of rebuilding her life after this loss, from the dark hours following the military notification to the first fumbling attempts at new love. She recounts the bond that led her and Miles to start a life together, even in the face of unexpected challenges, and offers a compassionate critique of the difficulties of military life. In one of the book’s most unexpected elements, Artis reveals how Miles’s death mirrored her own father’s—in a plane crash that she survived when she was five. In her journey through devastation and heartbreak, Artis is able to reach a new understanding with her widowed mother and together they find solace in their shared loss.

But for all its raw emotion and devastatingly honest reflections, this is more than a grief memoir. Delivered in breathtaking prose, Unremarried Widow is a celebration of the unlikely love between two very different people and the universality of both grief and hope.

 

13129925Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix
Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.

To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.

A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews.

 

 Posted by at 12:44 AM

  13 Responses to “Mailbox Monday”

  1. Nice assortment of books! I’ve been eyeing Horrorstör. It looks really fun and creative. Enjoy and have a great week.

  2. Horrorstor looks fun! Plus, the cover is too cool.

  3. Unremarried Widow sounds like an emotional read.

  4. I hope all of your books are winners!

  5. I hope you enjoy all your books; I’m still interested in Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix

  6. These all look tempting…I especially like the look of Mr. Samuel’s Penny and Unremarried Widow (I have What Remains on my stack).

    Enjoy…and thanks for sharing.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  7. Horrorstör is certainly a cleverly designed book! As a fan of IKEA, I’m interested in getting a copy of the book. Unremarried Widow sounds very touching, and the other two books also seem like good choices. Vicki, I hope you enjoy your reading time this week, and that it’s plentiful.

  8. Un-remarried Widow looks quite good.

    I hope you enjoy it.

    Have a wonderful reading week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  9. All new to me. Enjoy them and have a good week.

  10. Horrorstör was a fun book. I thought it was going to be a spoof, and it was, but it had quite a bit of horror in it too. And I still need to write that review!

  11. […] Mr. Samuel’s Penny by Treva Hall Melvin at I’d Rather Be At The Beach. […]

  12. Enjoy your books. A horror story set in an IKEA-like store sounds interesting.

  13. Wow. The Unremanrried Widow looks heartbreaking.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.